Where Angels & Santas Happily Co-Exist

Windsor castle tree

In the year 1848, Prince Albert (Queen Victoria’s German husband) put up a tree at Windsor Castle to celebrate the Christmas season.  From this moment on, households throughout the United Kingdom, Canada, and United States have been participating in this time honored tradition. Adorning the first Christmas trees were apples, nuts, marzipan cookies, candles, and homemade ornaments.

With the arrival of electricity, strings of light make it possible for festive trees to glow for days on end.

Over , my 30+ years of adulthood, I have gone through various types of yuletide décor on my trees.  The first 5 years were dedicated to handmade ornaments.  I spent hours weaving yarn through plastic, creating mailboxes, houses and trees in white, green and red.  These seem to fit the bill for the non-sewing type of person — I leave that to my talented eldest sister and youngest daughter.mailbox

The garland was a simple rope of small beads.  I was at all costs avoiding the shimmery two colored garland that was draped all over my Mothers walls at home by now.  There was actually a small piece that remained on the ceiling which we took bets on for a few years, wondering if it would ever be removed.  Not sure when that eventually happened but the entertainment value was there.  My tree was topped with a porcelain faced angel I found at my first ever visit to the Christmas Store in Banff, Alberta.  You know those tourist town stores or the pop-up in empty mall spaces that divide everything into color?  I really thought this to be genius the first time I saw it.  Just choose a color and every item right down to the candy canes are yours for a, well, generally hefty price.  But I just had to have that angel!  My Mom bought my eldest daughter a little book ornament from this store. I believe its title is the Night Before Christmas and I know for sure it had a red cover with gold writing.  If you know anything about my eldest girl, a book ornament would still be her choice.  I always knew my Mother was intuitive.

As time went on, our family Christmas tree became fuller with baby ornaments, the Holiday Barbie collection and Hallmarks’ A Celebration of Angels.

Angels

Holiday Barbie

During my tole painting state, all kinds of small wood St Nicks and Angels arrived.  I had a wonderful little wood working area in our garage.  The tabletop scroll saw and belt sander were in constant use for months prior to Christmas.  The sudden influx of ornaments could mean only one thing: another smaller tabletop tree was introduced for all the Santa ornaments.

Years later, the Holiday Barbie and Angel Celebration collections along with all childhood Christmas mementos left with their owners and we are down to one tree.

our tree

Our ornaments are now a mixed bag of handmade, heritage (Dutch Delft blue & Scottish tartan), gifted ornaments from family and friends, and our newest travel souvenirs.  I think my favorite of the travel ornaments is a toss up between the gold guitar from Graceland or the St Andrews Coat of Arms.  Either way, I find such great memories come from decorating the tree.  The angel on the top got replaced with a beautiful rustic star years ago.

It’s music to my ears when our 4 year old grandson says “Oma, your tree is beautiful.”  I couldn’t agree more.  It holds so many treasures of my life.

Here are some trees some of you may recognize from favorite Christmas movies. 

Charlie brownpolar express tree

Little women treeWonderful Life TreeWhoville tree

Griswald tree

Christmas trees and decorating them are always a great table conversation.  Why not throw these questions out the next time you are gathered around with your family or friends:

  1. Ornaments:  Angels or Santas?
  2. Tree Topper:      Star or angel?
  3. Tree:              Live or artificial?
  4. Garland:       Popcorn or beads?
  5. On Movie titles: Die Hard or White Christmas?

Please feel free to leave your comments on these. 

My employer generously encourages two volunteer days per year.  As an office we try to accomplish this as a group.  One of our favorites is working at the local hospital foundation’s Festival of Trees.  The Christmas trees are purchased by local companies and other companies sponsor the decorating.  These trees are just spectacular, and each one has an original theme.  The trees are auctioned off on a gala evening for a tidy amount of money and everyone benefits!  We also make sure we volunteer on the same day as family night, when the general public is offered skating with the local Western Hockey League team.  Santa, cookies, crafts, and hot chocolate make for a fun free evening for families.

My favorite is the book tree, and this year the Canadiana caught my eye with the Mountie cap adorned with Poppies.

Memory

I would say my favorite Christmas tree memory was heading out as a young girl with family and friends to cut down our tree.  It was a day filled with brisk mountain air, knee deep snow, open fires, and great food.  I can distinctly remember how happy my Mother was during this time.  Our family history at this time of the year included a tragedy years ago when I was a baby, and my sisters aged 4, 6, and 8. Thus our Mom was determined to always provide a celebration every year no matter the circumstances.  There was always a stocking even if it had only a few little items and an orange and gift under the tree. 

Iam definitely an artificial tree owner in adulthood.  I applaud those young families that bundle up their wee ones and head for the hills.  You are building forever memories and your time invested will pay off ten-fold.

Whateverornaments adorn your tree this year, I hope it fills your home and hearts with joy!!

pooh noel

One thought on “Where Angels & Santas Happily Co-Exist

Leave a comment